Kader Khan, Gautam Gambhir, Prabhu Deva Among Others Honoured With Padma Awards

Kader Khan, Gautam Gambhir, Prabhu Deva Among Others Honoured With Padma Awards

One of the highest civilian Awards of the country, The Padma Awards, were announced on Friday. The awards are conferred in three categories, namely, Padma Vibhushan, Padma Bhushan and Padma Shri. The awards are announced on the occasion of Republic Day every year.

This year too, the Ministry of Home Affairs on Friday sent out a press release announcing the Padma awards for 2019, includes 113 people in total. The Awards are given in various fields of activities, such as –  civil service, art, social work, literature and education, public affairs, science and engineering, sports, trade and industry, medicine, etc.

The Padma Vibhushan is awarded for exceptional and distinguished service; the Padma Bhushan for distinguished service of high order and the Padma Shri for distinguished service in any field.

This year the President of India Mr. Ram Nath Kovind approved 112 people from various disciplines for Padma Awards. The list comprises 4 Padma Vibhushan, 14 Padma Bhushan and 94 Padma Shri Awards.  21 of the awardees are women and the list also includes 11 persons from the category of Foreigners/NRI/PIO/OCI, 3 Posthumous awardees and 1 transgender person.

Kadar Khan, who died on December 31 last year is being recognised for his immense contribution to the world of films as an actor and writer named for Padma Shri.

After the actor’s demise, Rumi Jaffrey, Kader Khan’s co-writer from Coolie No. 1, said, “It is sad that so many of his juniors have higher prestigious awards and Kaderbhai hasn’t received even a Padma Shri. I know his PR was not good and didn’t keep relations with the politicians, but he has made an immense contribution to cinema and deserves to be honoured with one.”

Choreographer Prabhu Deva and actor Manoj Bajpayee will receive the Padma awards this year. 

Cricketer Gautam Gambhir, dancer and former diplomat S Jaishankar are among 94 persons named for Padma Shri.

Folk artist from Chhattisgarh Teejan Bai, Naik and theatre actor from Maharashtra Balwant Moreshwar Purandare and Djibouti President Ismail Omar Guelleh will be honoured with Padma Vibhushan.

Malayalam star Mohanlal, Former comptroller and auditor general V K Shunglu, former union minister Kariya Munda, Akali leader S S Dhindsa were named for Padma Bhushan.

Follow us on FaceBook and subscribe Eventznu for all the latest entertainment scoops.


Related posts

Leave a Reply